Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Foundation

# THE BRAIN PRIZE 2013 1MILLION€

### IS JOINTLY AWARDED TO

ERNST BAMBERG

MAX PLANCK INSTITUTE OF BIOPHYSICS, FRANKFURT AM MAIN, GERMANY

ED BOYDEN

MIT, CAMBRIDGE, MA, USA

KARL DEISSEROTH

STANFORD UNIVERSITY, CA, USA

# PETER HEGEMANN

HUMBOLDT UNIVERSITY, BERLIN, GERMANY

### **GERO MIESENBÖCK**

UNIVERSITY OF OXFORD, UNITED KINGDOM

AND

**GEORG NAGEL** 

UNIVERSITY OF WÜRZBURG, GERMANY

'for their invention and refinement of optogenetics. This revolutionary technique allows genetically specified populations of neurons to be turned on or off with light, offering not only the ability to elucidate the characteristics of normal and abnormal neural circuitry but also new approaches to treatment of brain disorders.'

# THE AWARD CEREMONY WILL TAKE PLACE ON 2 MAY 2013 IN COPENHAGEN

ALL NOMINATIONS WERE REVIEWED BY THE DISTINGUISHED SELECTION COMMITTEE:

YVES AGID, FRANCE, HUDA AKIL, USA, COLIN BLAKEMORE, UNITED KINGDOM, CHAIRMAN, FRED H. GAGE, USA TOMAS HÖKFELT, SWEDEN, VICE-CHAIRMAN, FLORIAN HOLSBOER, GERMANY, RANGA R. KRISHNAN, SINGAPORE, JES OLESEN, DENMARK

> GRETE LUNDBECK THE EUROPEAN BRAIN BRAIN RESEARCH FOUNDATION PRIZE

The Brain Prize recognizes and rewards outstanding contributions to European neuroscience, from basic to clinical